Ladi6, Noah Slee, Kings, winners at the 2018 Pacific Music Awards

Pacific talent was celebrated at Thursday night‘s Vodafone Pacific Music Awards, which included a performance from the legendary Punialava’a who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A still from Punialava’a video for their song ‘Rosalina‘ Photo: Screen capture

Punialava’a performed a medley of songs from the family band‘s 50-year career and were acknowledged for their widespread influence and significant contribution to Samoan music and culture.

and her team won big, taking home three awards including Best Female Artist, Best Album and Best Producer, which was awarded to Parks, Brandon Haru and Julien Dyne for their work on the Royal Blue 3000 EP.

Another big winner was 12-year-old sensation , who won the highly coveted People‘s Choice Award, as well as Best Song for his 2017 hit ‘Here To Stay‘. Best Video went to the director of the ‘Here To Stay‘ video, Samson Rambo.

Berlin-based picked up two awards: Best Male Artist and Best Urban Artist, while local reggae group Tomorrow People were acknowledged as the Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group, as well as Sunpix Best Pacific Language for their songs ‘Lock Me Up’ and ‘Sa’ili Le Alofa’.

The inaugural NZ On Air Streaming Award was presented to Auckland singer/producer Kings for his song ‘We’ll Never Know’, while Brooke Fraser received the NZ On Air Radio Airplay for her song ‘Therapy’.

The Special Recognition Award was presented to the Otara Music & Arts Centre (OMAC) for outstanding achievement and service to the community. OMAC, which has been running for 30 years, has become a cornerstone of the South Auckland community and has helped launch the careers of many well-known Pacific artists including Che Fu, King Kapisi, Ardijah, Savage and OMC‘s Pauly Fuemana.


Full list of winners:

Best Pacific Female Artist Award:
WINNER: Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP
La Coco – Love & Other Things Part II
Razé – 4Seasons 

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award:
WINNER: Noah Slee – Otherland
General Fiyah – ‘Here To Stay’
Kings – Chapter One

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Urban Artist Award:
WINNER: Noah Slee – Otherland
9-5ers – Close To Home
SWIDT – Stoneyhunga

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group Award:
WINNER: Tomorrow People – ‘Lock Me Up’ 
Sol3 Mio – A Very Merry Christmas
Three Houses Down – ‘Smile’

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video Award:
WINNER: Samson Rambo – ‘Here To Stay’ (General Fiyah)
Noah Slee & Si Jay Gould – ‘Radar’ (Noah Slee)
Olivia Foa’i – ‘Lakalaka’ (Te Vaka)

APRA Best Pacific Song Award:
WINNER: General Fiyah – ‘Here To Stay’ (Written by: Charlie Pome‘e & Nicholas Pome‘e)
Tomorrow People – ‘Sa’ili Le Alofa’ (Written by Kenape Saupese, Naomi Alatipi, Honiara Salanoa, Helen Tupai, Avina Kelekolio, Daniel Sugrue, Tana Tupai)
Te Vaka – ‘Lakalaka’ (Written by Opetaia Foa‘i/Matatia Foa‘i)

SunPix Best Pacific Language Award:
WINNER: Tomorrow People – ‘Sa’ili Le Alofa’ 
EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa‘afetai Le Atua
Te Vaka – ‘Lakalaka’

Auckland Council Best Pacific Gospel Artist Award:
WINNER: EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa‘afetai Le Atua
TJ Taotua – ‘Special Place‘ 
Niue Youth Network – NYN Niue Gospel Album

Flava Best International Pacific Artist Award:
WINNER: Tenelle – For the Lovers
Junior Maile – ‘When I‘m Gone‘/‘Golden Touch‘
Sam Kiles – ‘Delay’

Recorded Music NZ Best Pacific Music Album Award:
WINNER: Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP 
EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa‘afetai Le Atua 
Noah Slee – Otherland
Sol3 Mio – A Very Merry Christmas
SWIDT – Stoneyhunga

SIT/MAINZ Best Producer Award: 
WINNER: Parks, Brandan Haru & Julien Dyne – Royal Blue 3000 EP (Ladi 6) 
Anonymouz – The Undisciplined Son EP (Tha Movement)
Kings – Chapter One (Kings)

Vodafone People’s Choice Award:
WINNER:  General Fiyah

NZ On Air Radio Airplay Award
WINNER: Brooke Fraser – ‘Therapy’

NZ On Air Streaming Award
WINNER: Kings – ‘We’ll Never Know’

Phillip Fuemana Award – Most Promising Pacific Artist:
WINNER: Poetik

Special Recognition Award – Outstanding Achievement:
WINNER: Otara Music & Arts Centre (OMAC) 

Manukau Institute of Technology Lifetime Achievement Award
WINNER: Punialava’a

Leave a Comment